Sanju Samson reacts after his dismissal against Delhi Capitals© BCCI

Delhi Capitals assistant coach Pravin Amre believes that umpire’s decision should be respected when it comes to the controversy over Sanju Samson‘s dismissal during the IPL 2024 match against Rajasthan Royals on Tuesday. Samson, who was playing on 86, played a lofted shot straight down the ground off the bowling of Mukesh Kumar but Shai Hope ended up completing the catch at long-on. However, he was extremely close to the boundary line and replays showed that there was a chance that he touched the boundary line before the catch was completed. The third umpire ruled in DC’s favour resulting in Samson getting involved in a heated argument with the on-field umpires regarding the matter.

There has been a lot of conversations surrounding the matter but Amre believes that it was a close call and considering the technology available, the umpires’s decision is the final decision.

“In IPL some moments are very crucial, and it was a deciding moment in the game. Sanju was batting so well. We have to give credit to the way Hope judged that catch. Umpires are there, and there is so much technology. We also thought from the dugout that he has (touched the boundary) but it (happens) in the game, and the umpire’s decision is the final decision. It wasn’t an easy catch, it was really travelling. After the game also I spoke to him and he said the ball came very, very fast,” Amre told reporters.

DC kept their IPL 2024 playoff dreams with a crucial victory over RR.

“The way our bowlers executed at the back end was the main positive and it was really good to see. We will try to learn from every game. Even when we lose or win, we will keep our head down and keep moving forward. As always Kuldeep delivered which was great to see. It was close to par and at the same time we were thinking that if we can restrict them to 200 that would be fair and that was the thought process,” DC captain Rishabh Pant said after the match.

Topics mentioned in this article

source